Stuart the Apple Tree

I had the pleasure of making this illustration for a story by Tracy Wang, creator of the lovely I am the First Bite website, filled with stories for children that are accompanied by delicious looking recipes.

Nilo and Stuart garden scene illustration 3

You can read the full story of Nilo, the boy in the illustration above, and his friend Stuart the apple tree sapling as well as gaze at the beautiful apple tart recipe here on I am the First Bite.

studies for nilo and stuart

 

 

I find myself working with ink so often that it had been a while since I did a full-watercolour illustration of this size.

Here are some warm up studies I did before launching in, with a few new plants for practice too.

A very sweet and restful scene to paint!

Thanks again for this commission, Tracy!

This entry was posted in BIRDS and their secrets, Commissions, Illustration, painting, Playing with food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stuart the Apple Tree

  1. rabiaindian says:

    I want to join him under that umbrella, it looks so inviting!

Leave a Reply

