Red haired heroines

Recently I found myself thinking about red hair, and before I knew it had doodled a small series of portraits featuring some of my favourite red headed book characters, and as I’d been missing watercolour, painted them during breaks from the computer screen. There are others, of course, including some great red haired heroes – maybe I’ll draw more to mix into this mini-series at some point, but for now, here are six  favourite red haired heroines that just happened in my sketchbook.

anne-of-green-gablesrenn-of-the-raven-clanginny-weasley-and-broseleanor-douglasalanna-of-trebondpippi-longstocking

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anne Shirley of Anne of Green Gables, Renn from the Chronicles of Ancient Darkness series, Ginny Weasley from the Harry Potter books, Eleanor Douglas from Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell, cross-dressing knight Alanna in Tamora Pierce’s Lioness series, and Astrid Lindgren’s invincible Pippi – dreamy, fierce, hilarious and strong heroines whose stories I found myself wanting to reread while painting.

Hope your week is off to a good start, may it be filled with good colours and beautiful stories!

This entry was posted in Books, Doodling, Illustration, Literature, painting, portraits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Red haired heroines

  1. Always look forward to receiving your blog updates your work always make me smile – great way to start the week 🙂

Leave a Reply

