Swooping birds, glowing flowers

A card I made for my mum’s birthday, in ink and watercolour. She’s always telling me to be spontaneous with drawing and go straight for ink, so I followed her sage advice for her card, which is why some of the birds below have flowers sprouting from their heads and others are wearing impromptu animal hats. This is what happens when you cut out the pencil middleman.

mam bday card pic

Here’s a closeup – hope to put up a better scan soon : )

mam bday card2

Happy birthday again a week later, mam! 😀

This entry was posted in BIRDS and their secrets, Cards, Illustration and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Swooping birds, glowing flowers

  1. skeletaleejit says:

    I love it! The spontaneity does work (but so does the gradual approach).

  2. KnitNell says:

    Yeh pencils are for wimps!

  3. Rosalina says:

    what great work, so glad to see more of your stuff, rosa
    rosajhberlandartconsultant.com

  4. Mother says:

    Yes! Yes! as the proud recipient of the original I can confirm how beautiful it is. In the tremendous excitement of birthday feastings I failed to notice the genetic defects of some of the birds, which I only just discovered an hour ago. And now that I look at your blog I see it is a simple matter of animal mask on bird pate: Hurraaahh for the impetuous ink approach!!

  5. Yiong says:

    ……and I thought the birds were going berserk because they were unused to ink…..

  6. Oh it’s so great 😀

Leave a Reply

