Pink Pigs Green Pig

Here’s a card commission I did this week, based on a story about a curiously green pig amidst a crowd of envious and resentful pink ones. The story is one told in a play called The Pillowman by Martin McDonagh, currently on in Galway, Ireland – you can find out more about its times, cast, director and story by clicking here.

I met Peter while sketching on the tube in London last year, and he contacted me last week to ask for a card to give to his fellow cast members. I shake my head in wonder at the brilliance of chance public transport encounters.The Pillowman Card brighter

It was quite a tight deadline, but I’m happy with how the final card turned out! Below are some sketches and tryouts. Pigs turned out to be very fun to draw.pig studies pig colour texture trialsThank you again, Peter!

This entry was posted in Cards, Commissions, Illustration, Literature and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pink Pigs Green Pig

  1. Miss Beretta says:

    Amazing! they have real character!

  2. nickyhansell says:

    Ah! Now I see those dastardly pigs – they’re delightful Bea!! x

  3. skeletaleejit says:

    This is fantastic! I love it! What a grin on that pig…

    ________________________________

  4. Han EJ says:

    So happy for you! Thank you for making life so delightful!

  5. K-CHAN says:

    SIMPLY FABULOUS

  6. Margaret Richardson says:

    Marvellous pigs Bea! I love them all! They have so much character! Margie xx

  7. Owen says:

    Peter gave me one of your lovely cardsand its now pinned to the kitchen wall. You should come over to see the show. Peter is brilliant.
    Owen
    Set Designer

    • Hi Owen, thanks so much for your comment! I’m really glad you like the card, and it’s great to imagine the pigs now scoping out your kitchen, thanks for letting me know : )
      I would love to see the show, it sounds fantastic! Planes/dates are tricky though, but it would be great.
      Bea

  8. jcmindset says:

    Real art. You’ve got a talent. I’m sure I’ll be visiting the site quite often

Leave a Reply

