New York snippets

perspective shmershmective, proportions shmorshmortions

Hello and sorry for such a long silence! I’ve had a whirlwind of a time in New York. In and in-between the multitudinous splendours of coffee shops, parks, galleries and neighbourhood exploring I did lots of sketching – I’ll try and put something up every day over the next week or so! Here are a few sketchbook pages to start off with: the first an extremely accurate and proportionate snippet view of Union Square, smokey, trafficy and icy.

It’s been a long time since I saw so much snow and such huge icicles. I stayed in Brooklyn, much more laid-back and human-scaled than Manhattan, with my lovely friend Betty, who showed me all sorts of wonders. Jetlag got me good at first, and the city had me utterly overwhelmed, so I  went on many snowy Brooklyn walks, sliding on pavements transformed into ice-sludge lakes and lined by mini-mountains of shovelled snow. It turned out my snow boots were not actually very snow-proof, so I sloshed around Prospect Park, rewarded by sights of lovely trees, bridges, winding paths and bright red cardinals.

the most cunning

This entry was posted in BIRDS and their secrets, Sketchbook and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to New York snippets

  1. Nilufer caglar says:

    Bee! You are getting better and better!

  2. Hallo Bee! Fantastisch. Wat doe je in NY? Heb je daar een baan gevonden?

  3. Yiong says:

    Love your sketches, as usual, but this time especially the bright red cardinal.

  4. Margaret Richardson says:

    Wow! What a marvellous picture of NY you paint, with your words and pictures! We especially like the bridge with you and your little red beret. Xx

Leave a Reply

