Reading room

Sorry for the slowness, I want to put stuff up all the time, but I’ve been pretty swamped with reading. I’m studying Chinese literature and there’s a wonderfully humungous amount. It’s amazing! I’d like to share some of the work I’ve been looking at soon.

I like to think of my reading swamp as being similar to the beautiful abode of the man playing a qin in this card – bought at SOAS, featuring decoration on a Qing dynasty (18th century) jar with underglaze blue decoration.

Like so:

 

 

 

 

 

 

I like how even in my dream

study the place is a mess.

Visible floorspace? What?

Anyhow, I’ll try and put up

some more stuff soon. Have a

good week!

This entry was posted in Cards, Illustration, Sketchbook and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reading room

  1. K - Chan says:

    lovely, really lovely….
    still waiting for the sky-dog…

  2. skeletaleejit says:

    Fantastic! Lovely foliage too. I think I need some Bea-skills to illustrate my clunky Zi Bu Yu translations – I have no inspiration at all…
    Of course I should also be reading too, rather than thinking about this kind of thing.

  3. Alison says:

    I like that in the idealised version you have failed to give yourself a little bridge, suggesting that there is no escape. And yes, I distinctly remember the reality of the last image….

  4. pawpaws says:

    I wanna study room like that!! Amazeballs. Happy sintyklaas btw!

Leave a Reply

