Need more teapots / 小朋友

While painting in a 7/11 cafe a little girl gave me some drawing advice. Sorry if it’s a bit unclear – you can click to make it bigger but then it’s huge! I don’t know, it could be alarming. Speech bubbles in Chinese, translation in English above the bubbles and below the panels.

小朋友 (xiao pengyou) literally means ‘little friend(s)’ and is what people call young children here. She was very cute but I think she had a tantrum when I left because she wanted my watercolours : (

Hope you have a good weekend!

This entry was posted in Comics, Taiwan journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Need more teapots / 小朋友

  1. skeletaleejit says:

    Fantastic! More wonderful work, and great Chinese (inasmuch as I can judge these things). Teapots are indeed very important (壺 is a wonderful character, too), and your watercolour set does look rather fancy, so I can definitely sympathise with the 小朋友. Drawing with an audience can be tricky, can’t it? I remember sketching at a big old mosque in Pakistan, when an old chap ambled up, took a quick look at my progress and declared “no, wrong”, before wandering back into the crowd. That sketch turned out to be the best thing I did on the whole trip (so there), so you never know…

  2. Yiong says:

    You make the most beautiful Chinese comics in the world!

  3. Poly says:

    What a little Miss!

  4. drawingsofdubiousquality says:

    This is my favourite of all your work. The first panel shows perfectly how children can be fascinated by the simplest of things.

Leave a Reply

