The Winter king

I’ve been seeing this chap around a lot, despite all the new leaves. It’s a wren, or in Dutch a winterkoninkje (little king of the winter). He’s quite noisy, and seems plain, but if he decides to grant you a closer look you’ll see he’s actually beautifully intricately feathered – I strongly suspect I have not done him justice (in ink+  Chinese brushes).

This entry was posted in BIRDS and their secrets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Winter king

  1. david and margie says:

    you have done him justice – he is absolutely gorgeous and I think he is my favourite of all your birds! And I think the Dutch name is infinitely more evocative than the English one! I especially love his tail!

  2. Jodie says:

    love it!

Leave a Reply

